Friendly Debates are Healthy!

16 Dec

What kind of conversations do you have with your kids/nieces/nephews/etc?  I use to just listen to my 4 1/2 year-old daughter and just kind of nod along…but a friendly debate can be healthy and exercise the brain!

In the past when Julia would say she like X, I’d nod and say “oh.”  But then she started to say ” I like X, what do you like?” and here we started having real conversations with more depth and akin to friendly debating!  Then I realized this is great – it’s getting my preschooler to think in more detail before speaking, find her thoughts and convictions, reason why she liked something and articulate it!

Just this weekend she told me she liked the blue house (our last house had a blue front door) more than our current house.  Why?  Because she liked the TV/sunroom/playroom there with all the bright windows.  She also liked having stairs and a 2nd floor to the house.  Hmmm, okay.  Then Julia asked which house I like better and why.  I told her I like our current home better because there are no stairs (remember when Grandma fell and you fell once also), the kitchen is bigger, the house is newer and the windows are better.  We went back and forth for a couple of rounds/variations on this topic and she still likes the blue house better and we agreed to disagree.  Julia knows it’s okay for her to like the “blue house” better and for me to like our current house better.

So, in conversations with kids, have them think of their position, make statements and explain their reasoning!  Makes for good conversations and mental exercise!  It also shows them that you care, are paying attention and value what they are saying – things we want to from our kids when we talk :o)

Leave a Reply

