A quick visit and a cure? CVS MinuteClinic to the rescue!

13 Dec
“I participated in a campaign on behalf of Mom Central Consulting for CVS MinuteClinic. I received promotional items as a thank you for participating”

I have to admit when I saw this campaign I thought this has to be the best timed one and relevant to me yet!  Flu and cold season is among us as we sniffle into our gloves and sneeze or hack our way through the day- sometimes you might stop and wonder… “why am I suffering through this?”  Or worse parenting moment — hoping against hope your child snaps out of whatever he/she has so that we don’t have to take them to the doctor.  Ironically enough we were forced into a situation a couple of months back where we had to visit a MinuteClinic.  I have to admit I never really thought to go to a MinuteClinic (#MC) in the past, we have a family doctor and a pediatrician we usually go to.  But here we were in another city and my daughter had a fever.  My sister had brought her daughter there once in the past and had a good experience so she told me to give it a try. 

It was as wonderful an experience as a clinic visit could have been!  Zero wait and even if there was it looks like the computerized queing system is pretty organized.  The nurse practitioner was wonderful – she looked at my daughter thoroughly and was able to test her for strep right then and there (positive!) prescribed the antibiotic, which got send electronically to the pharmacist, AND I think best of all a copy of the diagnosis and prescription was electronically sent to my daughter’s pediatrician.

There is more..

SO I looked particularly exhausted, which I thought was mostly due to the trip and caring for my daughter, and the nurse then suggested I take the strep test and it turned out I had strep too!

That experience was just so quick, easy and efficient!  I have to admit that for minor things I currently prefer going to the MinuteClinic first rather than going through all the rig-a-marole with my doctors.  I still go to my doctor mind you, but its really more for things that are a little more serious or long term, but for quick fixes I think MInuteClinic works great.

  • MinuteClinic and CVS are a great one-stop shop for cough-cold and flu needs. You can visit MinuteClinic to vaccinate, diagnosis, treat and prescribe for cough-cold-flu and equip your house with wintertime cough-cold essentials at CVS. 
  • A great article to help tell the difference between a cold and the flu: http://bit.ly/18ca8La

 

Leave a Reply

